The ICA 2018 formula! – How would you best describe ICA 2018 in a mathematical way?

The ICA 2018 is considered to be one of the leading international conferences for actuarial science and mathematical finance. What better way to emphasize this claim than with a mathematical formula resulting in “2018”? That is the challenge of “My ICA 2018 formula”!


The aim is to collect as many different formulae equal to “2018” as possible. In order to achieve this goal, we would like to challenge you to participate and send us your personal formula. The only requirements are that your formula is – of course – mathematically correct and is somehow personalized by you, e.g., through headings “Mary’s lemma of theoretical exactness”, “Peter’s formula of universal interchange” or “The theorem for a successful actuarial get-together”.


Have a look at the first submitted entries for the ICA 2018 formula to get some food for thought.

In the end, all correct formulae will be announced on the ICA 2018 website and in the upcoming newsletter. Moreover, participants can decide and vote which formula might be presented at the ICA 2018 in Berlin – Have fun puzzling!


Contribute your personal and creative “2018 formula”. Send your submission to We are looking forward to your submission!



The „My ICA 2018 Formula“ Challenge is still running until 16 February 2018!



Thank you to our main sponsor Zurich for supporting this challenge!


Personalize your frame!

You can choose one out of six frames as well as different characteristics like color of hair or clothing, to customize your frame.


Your name (required field)

Your E-Mail-Addresse (required field)

 Frame 1 Frame 2 Frame 3 Frame 4 Frame 5 Frame 6

Hair color

Hair length
 Short Long

Clothing style

Other elements


George Simeonidis

Carsten Giese

Rainer Berntzen

Klaus Jöchle

Rainer Berntzen

Sven Rehmann

Irene Merk

Rainer Berntzen

Klaus Jöchle

Even Meier

Silvio Lange

Kalervo Koistinen

Ralf Korn

Michael Fackler

Klaus Jöchle

Klaus Jöchle

Andreas Mock

Roland van den Brink

Ke Yen-Chun

Peter Menzel

Rainer Berntzen

Rainer Berntzen

Rainer Berntzen

Peter Menzel

Ancus Röhr

Lesley Traverso

Tamás Varga

Christopher Huschka

Peter Menzel

Peter Menzel

Peter Menzel

Dirk Stöppel